top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah

Heliocare Tinted Sunscreen Review

Updated: Mar 14, 2018

Hey guys! How goes it? I just wanted to give you a recommendation for a daily sunscreen that I have been using recently and really liking.

I know many of us don't even consider wearing sunscreen daily, as a lot of people don't realize the damage the sun does to your skin over time. I'm here to tell you, as someone who didn't wear sunscreen (AT ALL), until a couple of years ago, you should def be applying a sunscreen on your face everyday, before putting on your make up. I have friends that have always wore sunscreen, and friends who never do, and the ones that have always worn it have flawless skin, those fine lines? Not a thing. Let's also consider the most important reasons, avoiding skin cancer.


What is the product?

Heliocare Gelcream Color Light SPF 50.


I really like this product for several reasons. Let's talk about them.


The ingredients

This daily tinted sunscreen works great as protection and anti-aging product. And I really love that this sunscreen is ultimately made of a more natural ingredient. Why? I have heard and read a lot in the recent years about how many chemicals are in sunscreen that are really bad for the body. Ingredients that are actually linked to causing skin cancer, as well as chemicals that can throw off the bodies natural hormone balance by increasing estrogen levels, which is linked to breast cancer.


Heliocare is made with mineral and non-mineral filters with photobiological protectants, mainly, Fernblock, which is a natural fern extract that is special to Heliocare. This Fernblock comes from a fern that creates it's own protection from harmful UVA and UVB rays. There have been multiples studies conducted around the world that have proved its success. On top of the Fernblock, Heliocare contains Panthenol and Vitamin E, for moisture and antioxidant effects.


I also want to mention that I have EXTREMELY sensitive skin, and this product seems to not aggravate it. Actually, for most of my life I was allergic to sunscreen, and this is one of the only products that I can use that doesn't result in hives or rashes.


The feel

I love that this product has zero oily effect. My face has a tendency to gradually get oily throughout the day and I have noticed that this cream moisturizes my skin, but prevents my face from getting as oily throughout the day. The texture is smooth and creamy, and I love it.


The look

The look is another factor that really sets this product apart from others. Its tint is the perfect color (light for me even though I have olive skin), and when applied it rids my face of any unevenness or discoloration, and gives my skin a tan, smooth, and clear appearance.


Check out my vlog review of this product to see how it works and looks, and be sure to subscribe to my YouTube Channel, @HanFaced.

Where to buy it:

Lucky for me, my most favorite beauty doctor in the world sells this product at his practice, The Cosmetic and Dental Emporium at the V&A Waterfront in Cape Town.


Thanks so much for reading! Be sure to stay tuned for more reviews, tips, and experiences!


254 views0 comments
bottom of page