top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah

Under-eye Fillers: Goodbye tired eyes.

Updated: Mar 22, 2018

I have to tell you, I didn't even know half of these types of procedures existed before too long ago. Where as now, I am working towards educating myself properly on the available aesthetic procedures out there to not only see what is available, but to decide whether or not it is perhaps for me. If you too have been wondering too, then you are more than welcome to join my journey and learn with me along the way. I'll volunteer as the beauty guinea pig.


I have always hated that when I smile in pictures, my under-eye area looks so hollowed in and deep. I have felt like it adds a "chubby" appearance to my cheeks and face as well as makes my already-existing dark circles even more enhanced. The problem with this, is the depth has been impossible to eliminate, no matter how much concealer I put on. On top of the almost dent-like features under my eyes, I have (as mentioned before) always had issues with having really dark circles. Who wants to look like they are either tired or sick all the time because of the purple ness under their eyes? Over it. The solution? Under-eye fillers.... Basically, these fillers are placed in the soft tissue in between the bone cavities underneath the eyes.


Where & Who:

Of course, if you have read my blogs before, you have come to learn how much I love Dr Zak, at The Cosmetic and Dental Emporium at the V&A waterfront in Cape Town. He is reasonably priced, and let me tell you about value. I think one of the most important things when going through procedures like this, (especially for the first time) is knowing that you can 100% trust your doctor. And that is what you get with Dr Zak. He is the type of doctor that truly wants what is best for each and everyone of his patients. That means, he will be honest with you if you need something, or if you don't need something. I think the problem in the medical aesthetic industry today is doctors being greedy and not turning patients away if something either doesn't work for them, or if they just don't need it. Dr Zak will always be straight forward with you. I don't think he has ever had a dissatisfied patient.


How did I feel about it prior?

I was pretty nervous going in. I nervous that it would hurt, and I was nervous about what it would look like. The pain was quite minimal, very tolerable, and the whole thing was so quick. and the results? Couldn't be happier.


Have a look at the before and after below.


Before & After (two weeks in between):

SMILING: Before & After (two weeks in between):

I think the biggest difference shows when I'm smiling. My apologies for the low quality 'before' picture. But, notice how the dents and hollowed appearance are gone in the second smiling picture :).


How long does it last?

About 9 months to a year! That's good news in that it saves money rather than having to get it done every few months.


is it risky?

The risk factors here for anything going wrong are very low. Especially if you have an amazing doctor like Dr Zak. And the good news is that there is an injection that the doctor can give you that will dissolve the injected fillers if you decide you are unhappy them, so you can rest assured, that you can indeed "turn back". But in my opinion, you definitely won't want to.


How do I feel about it?

Honestly, I feel really great about it! It's funny how it is oh-so-subtle, but it really helps with the appearance of dark circles, as well the dents or hollowed appearance that bothered me before. The thing for me, is I like #subtle. It's really important to me that everything I do is only but a small tweak, as I do like my face the way it is, but why not add natural-looking improvements? Isn't that pretty much what makeup is anyways? I highly recommend this if you struggle with dark circles, dents, hollowness, or wrinkles underneath the eye.


Thanks so much for reading guys, hope you come back soon! Please, feel free to email me at HanFaced@Gmail.com if you have any specific request for tutorials, tips, procedures, or reviews. I would love to hear from you.





46 views0 comments
bottom of page