top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah

Why did i start a beauty blog?

Updated: Mar 14, 2018

Why did I start a ‘beauty’ blog?


Hello world, my name is Hannah, and this my blog about a journey of beauty...#beautyblog.

I’ve always been one with the spirit of “young, wild, and free”, but I’ve started to realize as I’ve been quickly moving through my 20’s, that I definitely want to stay young-looking on the outside just as much as I am on the inside. I know a lot of other 20 somethings and 30 somethings are in the same boat, and are reaching a point in life where new concerns are popping up when it comes to their appearance. The daily routine is slowly changing from face washing and makeup-ing, to the addition of daily sunscreen and anti-aging serums. It is a touchy subject for a lot of people, as most of us want to act like we don’t mind that we are aging physically, and of course I agree that there is absolutely

nothing wrong with aging gracefully and letting gravity, and all of life’s smiles and frowns, take their course, it’s all about the beautiful journey, and the lines on our faces tell stories of our journeys. But, to be 100% honest, I think most people would definitely choose to stay #youthful in appearance if they had the choice. So, that’s why I’m here. I’m here to share my journey with you as 27-year-old who wants to embrace the options out there to help me embrace #beauty on the [inside] and out. I’m here to try out things that help me stay #young (on the inside and out) and then give you my opinion throughout the journey.


Although, I won’t only be sharing my two cents on the #antiaging subject, but of course other #beautytips that I stumble across along the way. I have to admit, I’m a bit of a #lazybeauty lover. I like to look good, but I truly do not like to put hours into it. I don’t blow dry my hair, nor straighten it, I don’t get it colored or highlighted, I don’t get my nails done (oh but I really should…), I’ve been using the same make up (bare minerals) since I was in 7th grade, and I do all of my make up in about 15 minutes.


Let’s get honest.

I really struggled with insecurity issues when I was young, as I believe many, many girls and women have. Things have gotten way better as I’ve grown up a bit, but of course there a few that have stuck around. I like to stay neutral when it comes to the politics behind it all, so I won’t be going there… The thing is, we all want to feel and look beautiful. The important thing to remember is, as cliché as it is, is that beauty on the inside is truly what is most important. I believe with all my heart that kindness and love make the world go ‘round… but… why not try and look my best while it rotates around the sun?


A little bit about my recent journeys…

I’m originally from Texas. In 2016, I decided to follow my best friend to Europe. She had moved to Germany for work, and I had just graduated college [finally], and was at the point in life where I was like, what the heck do I do next? I had worked full time throughout school, and had managed to save up enough money for the trip. Although, little did myself and everyone know, I wouldn’t be going for just a short visit. I told people I planned to stay in the EU for about three weeks, but deep down inside [me and my three huge suitcases), I knew I wasn’t coming back for a while, and so did my best friend whom I was going to stay with. It was an unspoken agreement.


Off I went, and had the most amazing time of life traveling Europe with my bestie. Although, unexpectedly, [as life tends to be], I met a South African boy while in Belgium. He was pretty great. Long story short, we hit it off, three months later I was on a plane headed to Cape Town to visit. After my three-month visa was up, I came back to the point I had reached earlier that year, what the heck do I do now? I knew I wasn’t ready to go back home and do the 9 to 5 thing yet… I wanted to be abroad, so what were my options? I had definitely considered furthering my education as on option in the past, so when I looked into programs, and the one program I wanted to do was the only option left, I took it as a sign….


Let’s cut to the chase… It’s a year and a half later and I’m still here in #CapeTown. It’s a beautiful place and life has been great.




31 views0 comments
bottom of page