top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah

Did somebody say botox?

Updated: Mar 14, 2018

Hello world, Hannah here to share a bit of my beauty journey with you. Today’s journey…. #Botox. Ahhh, the notorious word, Botox. I have found that many people have many mixed feelings about it. Unfortunately, people gain a bad view of it because they associate it with the reality TV shows they see where people have a tendency to go overboard with the fillers and botox. The truth here is, good Botox & fillers, go unnoticed. Thousands of people are walking around you who have had it done, and you have no clue, they look perfectly normal (and young!). The problem is the negative connotation that surrounds Botox because of the extreme cases that are out there. Botched jobs, people who become obsessed with getting work done, etc., these are the images that stick in people’s minds, but personally I have a very different view of it.


My entire life, I have had the most beautiful mother. She is stunning, and has gorgeous skin. Currently she is almost 60, and she looks like she is 40. Now one of the reasons I have a positive view on Botox is because my mom has been getting it for years, since her late 30’s, if I’m not mistaken.


Botox as a preventative measure…

I’ve heard a lot about getting Botox at a young age as a preventative measure, stop the wrinkles in their tracks! And as I have I have gotten older, I have become more and more interested in it. After my 25th birthday, I really started thinking about my skin. I realized I was slowly starting to get a few fine lines… On my forehead, around my eyes, and of course, smile lines. Why was my face creasing?! Since turning 25, I have more and more considered trying out Botox to prevent these lines from setting in.


Awaiting my first Botox experience…

As I sit here now, I am about to walk into my first Botox session ever… Ahhh! Of course, I’m nervous, but it can’t be that bad, can it? I’ve had Microneedleing done three times now, so if I can tolerate having that many needles put into my face, I’m sure I can tolerate a few little pinches of Botox. One thing that makes beginners feel better in my opinion, is remembering that Botox is only temporary. It works by blocking signals from the nerves to the muscles in a particular area, and when these muscles cannot contract, it results in a relaxation of the area which is prone to creasing. This DOES NOT take away the ability to have facial expressions… Although I am only just now about to learn this from personal experience, I already have seen the before and afters via friends and family, and the only thing that changed about their face was less wrinkles.


Who, what, when, where…


The who & where…

I have chosen to go to The Cosmetic and Dental Emporium at the V&A Waterfront here in Cape Town, SA. I have heard only amazing things about this practice, as well as the doctors who work here. The best part about this place is the area and the convenience. I literally was just shopping around the mall (such a beautiful area), walked out the door and found myself at the practice. Super convenient if you have a lot going on, you can easily run your errands and stop by your appointment one in the same. There is also very convenient parking right in front of the practice.


As for the who, the founder of the practice, Dr. Zak, will be the one giving me the Botox here today. I’ve done my research, and I’m pretty sure this guy is an aesthetic/beauty genius. When I first came here, I had no idea that the practice also specialized in cosmetic dentistry as well as medical aesthetics… but wait, they actually do everything here… Every time I asked about a treatment, they continued on to tell me about their offerings.


The when…

I have to say, this place is pretty booked most of the time. Which if you ask me is a good thing, because obviously everyone wants to come here!


The what…

As of now, I haven’t decided how many units or where exactly I will get them. I want to start this out slow, so I probably won’t go too crazy with the amounts and facial areas. I’m thinking maybe I’ll start out with just one part of the face. We’ll see what Dr. Zak says about it during my [free] consultation.


The during…

It just happened!!! Ah!! My first Botox sesh! It wasn’t bad at all. Dr. Zak was soooo quick and easy and cool about it that it was like, wham, bam, thank you mam. In and out in less than 5 minutes. And it really didn’t hurt bad at all. Just a little pinch, but like, I think I’ve felt worse pain when tweezing my eye brows. After a quick consultation, Dr Zak decided to start out just with my frown line.


The after…

BEFORE & TWO WEEKS AFTER


Dr. Zak made sure to give me the post-treatment care tips, as to make sure it sets properly into my forehead. The number 1 was not to lie down for 4 hours. Apparently, this is a pretty important one. Also, don’t massage or push on the area, and for a few days, don't participate in strenuous activity (working out, heavy lifting, etc.), and avoid salts, caffeine, and alcohol to ensure less swelling of the area.


How I feel about it...

As for my results, I absolutely love them. I will definitely continue to get the botox in my frown line from here on forward. And I will only get it done with Dr Zak. He is so amazing, and so knowledgeable, and it is just amazing to know that I can 100% trust him in that he knows exactly what he is doing. Not only did this help with my actually frown lines between the eye brows, but it has eliminated the lines from almost my whole forehead. I will update this post later as to how long these results last me, but as for now, it has been about 3 weeks and my results are just as great.


Check out the entire experience in the video below...







55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What is a PDO Thread lift?

I was told about PDO threading about six months ago and was very intrigued. Now, whenever I mention it to anyone, they always assume it is the type of threading like they do to pluck your eyebrows, bu

bottom of page