top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah

What is a PDO Thread lift?

I was told about PDO threading about six months ago and was very intrigued. Now, whenever I mention it to anyone, they always assume it is the type of threading like they do to pluck your eyebrows, but this my friends, is a very different type of threading. A PDO thread lift is a non-surgical skin lifting procedure. It is typically used to sort of manipulate the skin by lifting and tightening it, it reduces wrinkles, and stimulates natural collagen production.


What it is and where it can be used

It is a polydioxanone suture that is injected into the hypodermis of the skin (upper layer) to lift and smooth the skin. There are different types of threads and different lengths of threads, as it can be used pretty much anywhere in the face – below the eyes, the sides of the eyes, the cheeks, the chin, the nose, the lips, above the eye brows, etc.

It has gotten a reputation as the non-surgical face lift, and it can be that in intense cases where multiple threads are used, and it is actually pretty amazing (and much less expensive). However, it can also be used in a much less intense way, a few threads here and there to simple tighten and smooth the skin.

It is an extremely simple procedure and takes about 15 to 30 minutes depending on the amount of threads that are injected. Generally, patients are given an antiseptic which numbs the area making it virtually painless.


How I feel about it & who threading is for

So, personally, I think this is super great, convenient and innovative. Whenever I first heard about it - as I heard of it as a non-surgical face lift – I made the assumption that it was for older people. However, you would be seriously surprised how many models and actresses, etc., in their 20’s are getting PDO thread lifts.

Why are young people getting PDO thread lifts? Because, how little and how much of an effect the procedure has is completely dependent upon your case and how extreme you want it to be. If you just need a tiny lift in the brow area for aesthetic purposes, hey, there you go. If you want your check bones to stand out more and your double chin to stand out less, PDO threads can do that too. That’s why they are so great, because pretty much anyone can be a candidate. They are minimally invasive, quick, easy, the recovery is nothing, and results are amazing.


Before the procedure

Dr. Zak decided that I could use the PDO threads in my under-eyes, as I have issues with the hollowing and fine lines. I was really nervous, but of course Dr. Zak always makes me feel better, and I felt good knowing I can trust him completely. He is super smooth, gentle, and a total expert.


After the procedure

I already can see a difference actually, but the true results will only show up after 2 to 4 weeks. Excited for the outcome!


Stay tuned, there is still more to add to this post. :)

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page